Interview: Lisa Oldfield from the Real Housewives of Sydney (NSFW)

lisaoldfield

It’s no lie that at Recap Reality we enjoy the notorious Real Housewives franchise. What has become a global phenomenon expanding around the globe, it was time that Australia jumped on the bandwagon.

First with the Real Housewives of Melbourne it was time to expand into the luxurious Sydney regions of the high society.

I succeeded in one of my ultimate interviews and speak with Real Housewives of Sydney (RHOS) polarising cast members Lisa Oldfield to find out the gossip on what it takes to be a Real Housewife as well as her thoughts on the infamous scenes throughout the season. Take a read below!

How do you think your character has been portrayed this season?

Lisa: I own everything I said, the construct of the Real Housewives doesn’t show the real me. In real life if I met someone who irritated me or said hurtful things towards me (like Krissy Marsh) who I met once I would avoid social situations with them, however, the show necessitated me spending 4 to 5 times with them for 3 months.

I tried to get out of housewives two times, it wasn’t fair on me, my career or my family.

Thoughts on bullying throughout the season?

Lisa: I think that the bullying was out of control and a lot of it you didn’t see on TV. Someone like Athena was misunderstood, she had a tragic background and the girls were mean to her (calling her a greeky greek and a wog) but you didn’t see it.

I think if any women were badly edited it was Athena, there was no context as to why she lashed out to the girls and that was never shown.

Is this the same for Melbourne? 

Lisa: I’m very close friends with Gamble and she has felt the same way at times.

You said your 4 year old son was “acting like a dickhead” which sparked a fuel of hate online, what do you say to that?

Lisa: He was acting like a dickhead, but what you didn’t see was he called me a fucking cunt beforehand. I don’t care if you’re 4 don’t bring a knife to a gunfight.

Another claim was that you were caught in a rip and almost drowned until an obese man on an inflatable swan saved you, did this actually happen?

Lisa: Absolutely, I’m at the belief that production ridiculed that, they had a duty of care to look after me. I just had back surgery and was on Endo and had a bottle of champagne, I was being filmed. There were 28 crew members there, the beach was renowned for rips and luckily a lady saw me being caught in the rip and she flagged down her overweight husband. That was the first turning point on me wanting to leave.

What was another turning point in wanting to leave the show?

Lisa: The second time that I wanted to leave was that my dad was quite sick and I never felt a degree of sympathy from production- my family, my kids and my career has suffered and now they’re expecting me to go to Singapore.

My favourite insult was the dildo joke at Krissy Marsh!

Lisa: My favourite was “here’s a kinder surprise go and get fucked!”.

I actually bought the dildo for Victoria!

Victoria was complaining that she wasn’t getting any, my friend who owns a sex store gave it to me. I was up since 5am with Chinese investors and Krissy just started on me for 2 hours (about the notorious Amy Winehouse Instagram post). Hopefully she got some good use out of it!

What are your thoughts on the reunion?

Lisa: I haven’t watched it. I’ve been so busy to watch it!

At the reunion, you said another comment along the lines of playing up your marriage for the camera (from Victoria), comments?

Lisa: Production confirmed I never said that, I was obviously miced. I admit I had too much to drink, but if I did say that it would’ve been a way to remediate the situation.

Alex Perry was terrible at hosting this year, he even had a dummy spit for not letting the girls finish.

Lisa: It was interesting because when Athena was speaking he would shut her down, there were a couple of times where I was trying to defend myself and he would shut me down. Victoria threatened to walk out every 10 minutes. The day in total was 19 hours, 3 hrs hair and makeup, 14 and a half hours of filming.

How much of the season did you get to see before filming the reunion?

Lisa: 8 or 9 episodes.

Tell me about the master interviews, when are they filmed and how often?

Lisa: They are filmed on a bi-weekly basis. It depends on how much you bring it to I, Athena and I had more.

Do they play back the footage?

Lisa: There’s no footage played back and therefore you can be called out in master interviews, you’re having things repeated to you (by producers).

Is that how they’re building they (the producers) are building the storylines?

Lisa: That’s part of our contract that basically says the producers can lie to us and that’s part of the show.

Do you break the fourth wall with production while filming?

Lisa: Yes! That’s why the crew enjoyed working with me so much because so many became my friends. After masters, they would stay and I’d Ordered gourmet pizza, vintage red wine, we’d always have a lovely time and my Facebook is filled with crew members who I have formed great relationships with. Even Foxtel staff couldn’t bare to work with Krissy or Victoria. So many would speak down to the junior runners and staff members.

What are your thoughts on the Auckland franchise?

Lisa: I think I was one of the few people who loved Auckland and the city as a whole, It was a bit but they never budgeted for it (the reunion) which is sad because I thought the girls certainly brought it.

… and Melbourne?

Lisa: LOVE Melbourne! I had a long conversation with Gamble yesterday, she said yesterday that none of your cast members can take a joke, if you called me a Chewbacca I would’ve done a noise. We would’ve had a laugh at the KKK reference. The Sydney girls don’t do self-deprecation. Gamble reckons I’m in the wrong franchise.

If you had to switch a Sydney castmate for a Melbourne castmate, who would it be?

Lisa: Susie to Sydney because she is fucking boring. (we agree!)

What are your thoughts on the US possibly not picking up the show?

Lisa: You have to remember Melbourne wasn’t picked up until after season 2 aired, but I’m not in the business of selling shows.

They said you were bitchy for the sake of being bitchy..

Lisa: I don’t agree with that, everything you saw from me was reactionary, I never walked into a social group and put anyone down. I would never enter someone’s event and ruin someone’s speech to make it all about me.

Do you see any of the girls now that filming has wrapped up?

Lisa: I regularly go out with Athena once a week. Matty and Michael are good friends and are coming over next Saturday and I grab the odd coffee with Melissa every now and again.

I want to play a game, Fuck, Kill or Marry, I feel like you would enjoy this!

Athena X, Victoria Rees or Krissy Marsh?

Lisa: Marry Athena, fuck Victoria OVER and kill Krissy Marsh.

 Gamble Breaux, Gina Liano or Pettifleur Berenger?

Lisa: Marry Gamble, Fuck Gamble and kill Pettifleur .

Melissa Tkautz, Matty Samaei or Nicole O’Neil (Captain Eyebrows)?

Lisa: Marry Matty, then probably kill her because she doesn’t shut up. I wouldn’t want to do anything with the other two!

Who would you not like to return?

Lisa: Krissy Marsh.

There are rumours on Imogen Anthony joining the cast…

Lisa: I suggested her, and I think she’ll be fantastic. I think we need a cast shake up, some of the girls have sticks up their asses (referring to Krissy and Nicole). If I have to hear about one more time about how privileged and fortunate I am, I’m so lucky and need to give back, just please stop reminding us of our filthy rich you are.. and it’s worse off air! Nicole is the exception to her family!

RHOS Season 2 – are you coming back?

Lisa: Yes! Absolutely! It hasn’t been commissioned yet but I’m sure I will be.

Now how does one apply to be a housewife? It’s not on seek!

Lisa: I advise you to not become a housewife, only if you want your whole life turned upside down. But I’d think you’d be very good at it! (Thanks!)

I was contacted by a casting agent over 2 years ago, we met for lunch and chatted about my career and my face in the world. She recommend me to housewives. Matty, Nicole and I got the nod 18 months ago. Then we had sit down lunches that were filmed. Athena, Krissy and Melissa came very late in the piece and Victoria was a shock 7th housewife and found out when the cast was announced. Never heard of her before hand!

Lastly, because I am desperate to be a housewife can I film with you next season? 

Lisa: Yes! You’ve got my contact information so just ping me!

There you have it, some insider gossip into the world according to Lisa Oldfield, not only did I become a super stan after our conversation but I have secured my debut into Reality Television! I look forward to filming with Lisa next season!

You can listen to the unedited (and unfiltered) interview below.

Watch another interview with Lisa Oldfield below.

Leave a Reply

